The Perfect Crime


I don’t think there is anything that could be a perfect crime. Most crimes are solved by a combination of good forensic work and investigative skills. There have been some crimes that have led to dead-ends, such as the Tylenol poisonings in Chicago and the anthrax crimes have still not be solved, but these are rare occurrences. Science has become so precise that investigators can tell where certain poisons were manufactured. But there have been crimes where an unknown body has been found, and identifying the victim, let alone the perpetrator is difficult. This doesn’t mean that these crimes won’t be solved at point. People slip up and say things that lead to their arrest. That tendency within people coupled with superior investigative skills will lead to most crimes being solved.

I couldn’t think of a perfect crime that I could commit. The closest I could come would have been stealing my ex-husband’s Nazi memorabilia and pawning them or selling them in some way. But I would have had to do it when my ex was still speaking to his son and his son was visiting, so there would have been only two suspects. And how do you tell which of us did it?

This was a troubling post to write because committing a crime is the furthest thing from my mind. I felt like murdering my husband several times but I could have never done that no matter how angry I was with him because it is wrong, and I try so hard to do the right thing. So a perfect crime is an oxymoron, as far as I’m concerned. Crimes are wrong and therefore not perfect.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Perfect Crime and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

