Down Time


I have a lot of “down time,” of my own choosing, since I live alone and my time is pretty much my own. I avoid all those housework duties as much as possible, and have someone come in the clean. I have just gotten too involved in my private activities that I don’t want to waste time doing mundane chores. Sounds terrible, I know, but there you have it. It leaves me more time to pursue the many things I want to do, and at my age I would much prefer to be doing what I like that feel obligated to do boring things that I hate. I do like to cook sometimes and I love to bake, but don’t do much since I live alone.

I enjoy my blogging, I love to write and am writing a book on my conversion to Islam. It’s coming along nicely; I’m about 3/4 done. It has been rather emotional at times since it is autobiographical and at times feels like I’m reliving the events as I write about them. I also have a blog called Nana’s Stories, which I am writing for my granddaughters to let them know the family stories and what life was like when I was growing up and a young adult. The great thing about a blog is that I can give the links to my granddaughters and my daughter will not be able to throw it out when I’m gone. There’s a possibility that there is a book in Nana’s Stories, but we’ll see.

I enjoy languages and I am making a great effort to learn Spanish. In my opinion, anyway who lives in San Antonio should learn Spanish. Our population is 60% Hispanic and most of the city is bilingual. We have many visitors from Mexico during the week before Easter for shopping trips, and we have many people who travel back and forth across the border. Bilingual skills are really needed. I’ve tried to convince my daughter that she would be more marketable if she learned Spanish (she took four years in High School and can’t speak a word)., but she is of the opinion that this is America and everyone should speak English. That’s all well and good, but the facts remain that so many people don’t speak English whether you like it or not, so why not learn?

Reading is my passion. I love the Sister Fidelma mysteries, set in 7th century Ireland, written by Peter Treymane., but I not nonfiction as well. I enjoyed “The Tipping Point” and its sequel. I belong to a book discussion group. We read a book every book and then discuss it. This season’s books have been pretty good, though this one for next month is getting to be long and dragging on. Speaking of reading, I am returning to graduate school online to get my Master’s degree in forensic psychology so I’ll be doing quite a bit of reading for school.

I used to do quite a bit of counted cross-stitch but my eyes won’t allow it now. I enjoy painting when I’m not so lazy to set up my paints. I want to learn to that good photos, so I have bought a new camera and will turn to learn how to take good pictures. Music is also a passion of mine. I listen to Enya, Loreena McKinnett, and other music of that type.

I’ll try to link this back to Mushy Cloud’s blog so we can keep ourselves entertained reading about how we spend our down time.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

