Saturday’s Five Question Friday


Five Question Friday

1. If you were free to just hop in the car and drive, where would you go? Or, if you could hop a plane and go anywhere, where?

In the car, I would take a drive down to the Texas seacoast, to Mustang Island, to the beach, but only when all the tourists have left. Spring Break was a week ago so most tourist will be gone so a week without people there would be nice. If I could hop a plane, I would go to Florence or Barcelona. Doesn’t matter which one. Both would do nicely. Or Montréal. I could fly or drive there.

2. What’s your most recently read favorite book?

The Chief Inspector Gamache mystery series. Gamache is a Chief Inspector in the homicide department of Sûreté de Québec. I love the setting of the series of Montréal and the Eastern Townships near the Vermont-USA border because I used to live near there. And the descriptions of the food are wonderful–all the foods i miss and have trouble finding in Texas.

3. What’s your favorite Spring Break memory?

Driving from Niagara Falls, NY to Columbia, SC for the NCAA first round basketball games when I was a junior in university. Spring Break was not very big then, but it was out Spring Break even though our team lost. It was an adventure. I had never been that far south before. It was the first time I had ever seen a palm tree.

4. What do you put in your child’s Easter basket? Or, for those w/o kids, what was put in your childhood basket?

I always had a chocolate Easter rabbit and a fruit filled Easter egg. Jelly beans and hard boiled colored eggs, and Peeps. And marshmallow chocolate eggs.

5. Do you get a summer haircut?

I have very short hair so i get my hair cut every 6 weeks, so yes, I get a summer hair cut. It is so easy to care for and keeps me cool in the 100+ Texas weather.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Five Question Friday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

