Choices


Would you rather make your own choices or have others make them for you?

I would much rather make my own choices in nearly every aspect of my life, including my health. I want to control my own destiny and my own fate. In terms of health, I will certainly listen to what my doctors have to say and the options that I have, but in the end, the decision is mine to make. I really don’t like other people making decisions for me about anything. I want to have input on everything that affects me. Even when I was working, I wanted to have input on the choices of the assignments I had and the way the assignments were done and I was fortunate enough that for nearly 40 years I had supervisors who worked with me to make that happen. I only had one supervisor who could not work with me this way and I had to quit a job I loved and go elsewhere in order to work because of her inability to let me be involved in making choices. My family has always allowed me to make my own choices and so have my friends. I had one boyfriend who didn’t. He lasted a VERY short time.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Choices

  1. judithhb says:

    I absolurely agree with you Marie. And I find myself getting quite irate at those who think they knoiw better than ne about things that affect me.

Leave a Reply

