Wednesday Hodgepodge–Late


1. In an effort to combat obesity, the mayor of NYC has plans to ban the sale of large sugary drinks (anything over 16 oz.), initially in restaurants, movie theatres, and street carts. Corner stores would also be affected if they are defined as food service establishments. You can read more here. Your thoughts?

I think that low calorie, less sugary drinks should be offered to customers along with the other drinks. People shouldn’t be forced to buy what they don’t want. I personally would buy the alternative drinks but can’t now because they aren’t offered. I would be thrilled if they were.

2. Art festival, music festival, food festival…which would you most like to attend?

Art festival. I love art and love art festivals. I eat too much at food festivals and can’t sit still long enough at music festivals. I just love looking at all the wonderful )and not so wonderful) art ay festivals.

3. What are you irrational about?

Monkeys. I just despise monkeys. I hate them. I don’t find they amusing. They scare me. And clowns. I feel the same way about clowns.

4. Do you feel confident you’ll have a comfortable retirement?

My retirement is not all that comfortable. I get by but have to be careful. I made the mistake of loaning some of my reitrement money to my daughter and cousin and their repayment has not been very forthcoming so I worry about that. It’s my retirement. I worry.

5. What’s been your favourite Olympic moment so far?

The USA gymnasts winning gold. That was truly exxiting. And Gabby Douglas winning the all-round gymnast gold. Those have been my “golden” moments.

6. What would you label as the messiest room in your house?

My bedroom

7. Do you follow your heart or your head?

I usually follow my heart but I’m getting better with following my head.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I should get my repaired car today and give back my rental Mercedes (sigh). But I’m grateful that my accident wasn’t worse. If the truck tire had impacted the windshield first, I could have been killed at the speeds we were traveling. I’m very lucky. God was watching over me that day, I guess.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment