My Best Eid Gift


Yesterday morning I really received the best Eid gift I could have ever hoped to really received: a phone call from my daughter. She sounded a bit tentative at first, as if she were worried about what I would say. But I kept to kindness and the happiness I felt. I know it was not easy for her to make that call.

I had last called her Friday night and asked her to PLEASE call: life is too short for us to be estranged. We made a little small-talk, and she then talked at length about problems at work. I listened and sympathized because I know she is good at her job and she works in a very high-pressure situation. Her boss is very demanding and picky. She is criticized for ridulous things, even when she is following his directives. I hope she looks for another job where she will be better appreciated.

She has been taking the girls to Marshall HS to catch their bus, but plans to complain to the district. because the bus is always late, and they are always late for school. She usually picks them up after school, since they have practice for Pep Squad every day. On Friday morning, the local Fox TV channel’s weatherman was at Holmes for their pep rally. I saw a little of it, but then left at 7:45 a.m. for Eid prayers. But Sabrina said they taped it all, so I hope they will let me come over to watch and see them. Sabrina said that they do their dances well and enjoy the Pep Squad.

We did not speak about what happened 3 weeks ago, except I said that I had heard from Cassie that the vet had cut Pako’s nails while he was in quarantine. Indeed they had and this surprised Sabrina because the last time he was there, they couldn’t get the muzzle on him so they could clip them. That was the only reference to the incident. I was a little disappointed that she did not apologize, but that’s okay for now. I asked if Clint had gotten his graduation card (although I knew he had, since he had cashed the check the next day). She replied that he had. No thank you, however. She did thank me for her birthday gift. I also told her that I needed, for legal reasons, to remind them that they hadn’t made a payment on their loan since June. She said that she had reminded Clint, but she would remind him again. No excuses; that was good. But I will have to send an email Monday week if there is no payment by the weekend. I know I need a paper trail.

We both had lost power last night, just for 5 minutes or so. (But to confirm how such small things set him off into an angry tirade,) she said that he came very angry, saying that they were going to a hotel. (Apparently, he had some work to do.) But the smallest thing sets him off. I doubt that he really listens to her problems from work, and so I want to be there for her to vent her frustrations.

I asked if she and the girls would like to go to brunch this weekend, but she said they had housework to do on Saturday, and then the girls had to go to the football game Saturday night (Holmes won against O’Connor, so they are still the only NISD high school football team still undefeated:close score; must have been a good game). Then on Sunday, she said, they (I assume, she and Clint) had “a shop” to do. Maybe next weekend, she said. I told her that was fine, that the Masjid was having a picnic but it hadn’t been decided whether Saturday or Sunday, or where (it is today at Canyon Lake).

So I did thank Allah after salaat for the answer to my prayers. I know we are on a long journey to reconnect. On Thursday, we will see John. I will try to “kill her with kindness,” but I also know that she can no longer bully me and demand how I live my life. And as I told Allah in my prayers last night, I am so happy that my daughter is speaking to me again, but when it comes to whom to please, I still choose Allah.

Published with Blogger-droid v1.5.8
About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Eid gift, reconciliation, Sabrina my daughter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

