Maybe A Misunderstanding?


So why I have still not heard a word of any kind from Sabrina? Could we have a misunderstanding here? She asked a question the other day (Sunday) on FaceBook about Muslims celebrating Christmas. Some of her friends gave some silly answers–rather ignorant–but I decided to give the answer that our sheikh gave last week at Juma’. We don’t celebrate as in putting up lights or trees, but we can exchange gifts and greetings with our Christian cousins to acknowledge the holiday. We must always be polite and considerate of other People of the Book (Christians and Jews). So we acknowledge Christmas but don’t celebrate it, if you can understand that.

Maybe she thought that I ignored Christmas. But that makes not sense since I asked her about gifts for the girls. And it doesn’t explain why I still haven’t heard from her, three days later. An apology would be nice, since she knows that I was tremendously hurt by her lack of communication with me. I just can’t believe that she still has not at least called me. My most precious Christmas gift this year was the text from Jackie of “Merry Christmas” on Christmas night.

I sent the girls a text earlier today to see if they want to see a movie in the next day or two. I haven’t heard back from them. I feel like I don’t exist. That I am invisible. I just don’t understand. Did I do something wrong? Did I offend someone in that family? I don’t get it. Why am I being treated like I don’t exist? Maybe no one wants to apologize for being idiots. (Smile)

I did call my psychiatrist to see if she can do something about my sleep problem. I was able to get an appointment for next Monday, but they might be able to fit me in sooner if there is a cancellation. I certainly hope so. I have to go to do my blood test work tomorrow. I was going to go today but forgot and drank something in the morning. Rats. So now I suppose I will have to sit in that lab for an hour or more to get this blood work done. I’ll try to go early; maybe that will get me in and out in a reasonable time.

Anyway, I hate this not hearing from my family (I still think of them as my family even if they don’t). I received beautiful jewelry from the Toledo-Yepas for Christmas on Friday (but didn’t pick it up until today). I also got the new children’s book on giving thanks. I might send them off just as a Valentine’s gift or something. A little surprise.

I am thankful that I have such wonderful friends and relatives who care about me. Why doesn’t my immediate family seem to care about me. It just makes me so very sad.






About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Christmas, communication, daughter, depression, feeling like I don't belong, granddaughters, jewelry, lack of sleep, misunderstanding, movies, outcast, phone call, psychiatrist, relationship issues, sadness, therapist and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

