To Give Or Not To Give, That Is The Question


My granddaughters and I are going to see a movie this afternoon, and since I haven’t seen them since before Christmas, I packaged up their Christmas gifts to take over to their house. But I have been debating and going back and forth about giving my daughter and her husband the gifts I had gotten for them.

One part of me was saying, “Forget it. They have forgotten you and hurt you by not even calling on Christmas. Screw them.” The other voice was saying, “Giving them their gifts and not holding grudges is the best way to go. Follow the Christ-path and be kind without expecting kindness in return. Be kind because it is the right thing to do.” These competing thoughts have been going on since last night.

But the “tipping point” came today in messages from two people who reminded me that I AM the bigger person. Whether they appreciate the gifts or not, I will leave the gifts for them and they can accept them or not. Their choice. My choice is to be kind. I brought the gifts for them and although I hadn’t given them yet, gifts are gifts. Maybe it will help our therapy session go more smoothly. Maybe it will have no effect. But I think I will have done the right thing.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Christmas gifts, daughter, granddaughters, movies, reconciliation, relationship issues, son-in-law, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

