Technology


This is a post that I first wrote on January 29, 2011.

What piece of technology could I nor live without? That is a really difficult question, since I use so much technology all the time, I guess I would have to say my laptop computer. It is my link to the world. I use it daily to “talk” to friends and relatives whom I would normally not have everyday contact with, or even frequent contact with. I have met new friends on the computer (thank you, FaceBook) and I use it daily to blog my thoughts and stories. I could write them in long-hand, but there is a greater chance they I would lose them. My Nana’s Stories blog is for my granddaughters. If I wrote the story in long-hand, the chances are good that my daughter would dump them when I die and they would be lost to the girls, I am writing a book and the computer makes that so much easier,

The best part, for me, is keeping up with friends and family on the computer, through social networking and email. I write to people and find out what they’re doing every day, and it is like living closer to them, It is the connection with people that makes the computer so important to me.

I am planning on going back to graduate school online, The computer is absolutely necessary for that. Class hasn’t even started but all my applications and requests for transcripts have all been done on the computer. It would take weeks to gather all the materials if I didn’t have a computer.

It would also be difficult for me to live without my Kindle and ebooks. I am addicted to that thing. I can carry multiple books with me wherever I go. My many doctors’ visits would be unbearable without my Kindle.

I also love my CD player. I love music and having it available is important to me. I can take the portable one with me and have the larger one at home. My phone also functions as a MP3 player and that is handy. I’ve thought about getting a real MP3 player (iPod) but I usually read when I’m “on the go,” and wouldn’t use it that much. I love having it at home, though. TV I can take or leave.

A piece of technology that annoys me is the cell phone. I know it’s necessary and good to have in the car or when I walk the dog; they are great in an emergency. But texting makes me crazy. My granddaughters and my daughter communicate almost exclusively by text. There is only so much one can put in a text, and because they are short, things can be misunderstood and misconstrued. We can’t live without them, but they are really annoying–ringing all the time; texting all the time. They do come in handy but they are also incredibly annoying, especially when people are talking on them EVERYWHERE. In restaurants, in doctor’s office waiting rooms, on the bus or train. No body wants to hear people jabbering away about whatever. There should be some sort of phone etiquette. Or at least courtesy by phone users. The best thing about the phone is for keeping contact information and my calender. I would be utterly lost with the calender function. My real complaint is about cell phone users, i guess, rather than the cell phone itself.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in CD player, computer, kindle and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

