P is for Pako and Postcards



Pako is my daughter’s ill-behaved Chihuahua whom many of you are familiar with from a biting incident this past summer. However, today I will discuss Pako’s good attributes rather than just his problematic behaviors.

Pako is about 5 years old (Sabrina, I’m sorry if I got it wrong) and is now the only dog in my daughter’s home after the death of Nyx. He is actually a very attractive looking dog: tan, short-haired, with very long legs and large ears. He is also an intelligent dog. He knows his name and has outsmarted every member of the household on several occasions. He is quick on his feet and loves attention. He can be the sweetest creature in the world when he is receiving attention and lots of love. And he is terribly cute, so it’s easy to give him loving.

He loves to go outside and loves to lie in the sunshine. He hates the cold and has several little shirts to keep him warm. The only problem with that is that he doesn’t like to have the shirts put on him and he can get a little snappish when someone is dressing him. The one person who can deal well with Pako (or as I call him, Pakito malo) is Cassie, who has earned the name “The Pako Whisperer.” She seem to be able to get him in when he doesn’t want to come in and coax him out of places he shouldn’t be. She has a gift.

Pako is extremely protective of his mother, my daughter Sabrina. If he is sitting with her or near her and someone comes near her, he will snarl and growl and snap. This is not good at certain times, as my son-in-law- has discovered. I understand why he doesn’t like dogs (especially since he is allergic) when you have Pako the Protector around.

I don’t always call him Pakito malo. I have started calling him Pakito bueno because, I thought, acting positively toward the little fellow might help change his outlook on life. I really do like Pako and apparent fro the summer biting incident, he is usually sweet with me. He often wears his lead in the house because my daughter read somewhere or someone told her (I don’t remember) that the lead will remind him that he is not the boss. I’m not sure that really works but he has become better behaved in recent months. He misses his friend Nyx and I feel bad for him that he has no companion.

The other “P” I wanted to talk about is a website called PostCrossings. It is a postcard site that gives you the name and address of a random person in the world (the person has signed up for this; you won’t get a postcard just randomly in the mail). You send that person a postcard and you will receive a postcard from a random person in the world. You can may direct swaps if you want, and you have a map that shows where you have sent postcards and where you receive postcards from.

I have just started this but I think I will like collecting postcards from all over the world. You can leave a message for the person from whom you received a postcard, too. The people are older and young. So far I have mailed postcards to people in Finland, the Netherlands, Spain, Singapore, Poland, and Thailand. I habe received a postcard from a woman in Florida. The woman in Finland and the teenager in the Netherlands have received my post card. You can have 5 cards travelling at one time. It’s just a nice way to say “hi” to the world.

This post is part of a month-long series, A-Z, that I am participating in for the month of April.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Pako and Postcard and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to P is for Pako and Postcards

  1. The Hook says:

    Dogs are just like people- they have emotional problems to overcome sometimes.

Leave a Reply

