V is for Violin


I have always loved violin music. The strings seem to sing as the violinist moves the bow across the strings. The violins are the backbone of the orchestra. That’s why there are usually two sections of violins in any orchestra, to anchor the pieces and bring them to life with the crescendos and diminuendos.

My father played the violin when he was a boy and a young man, but preferred to listin to piano music on his old 78 rpm albums. He had piano sonatas by Liszt, Mendelsonn, Beethovon, Mozart, and many other classical artists. he also had violin music by Brahms. His old violin was packed away in the garage attic when he married and we children can along and devoted his spare time to carpentry work and reading.

I had taken piano lessons from the time I was 4 years old until I finished 8th grade. I should have been fairly proficient at the piano but I had no talent for it. I loved playing but I wasn’t very good at it. When I was an adult I bought a piano (there were no electronic keyboards then) and played every chance I got. I did’t get any better but I enjoyed playing. My daughter took piano lessons for a while (also flute lessons) but she did not have much talent with instruments either. Her forte was dance and acting and those are the things she loved to pursue. I spend most of her preteen and teenage years taking her to ballet lessons. When she was a preteen, she acted for two seasons in the New York State Children’s Theater’s production of “A Christmas Carol.” Yes, I’m bragging.

Buy I digress. I decided that I would like to try my hand at the violin. I took my father’s old violin, made in 1904, to a repairer of violins who took it apart and reglued it and restrung the bow. It is a very good student violin and I bought a new case for it. I proceeded to find a teacher who played in the Albany, NY Symphony Orchestra and took lessons from her for about two years, until Sabrina became so involved in ballet that I had no time to practice and no time for lessons. I thoroughly enjoyed my lessons and learned to play quite a bit. The teacher gave a recital of sorts for her adult students ( wasn’t the only one, there were 2 or 3 others), and we enjoyed listening to each other play. I was sad to give up my lesson but I did.

The violin sat unused in the beautiful case in my house and came with me to Texas. When my sister came to visit me in Texas one February, she asked if she could take it home for her son Paul who is a musician and plays a number of instruments. he wanted to try his hand at the violin. I agreed so she carried it back to NYS on the plane with her. He lives in Los Angeles now and makes electric guitars. I don’t know if he has it with him or not. It may be at my sister’s house. Perhaps one of her grandchildren will decide to play it in school music class, just as my father did all those years ago.

This post is part of a month-long series, A-Z, that I am participating in for the month of April.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in violin and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

