My Given Name–It’s Complicated



My full name is Diane Marie Catherine Fatima Samson. The Catherine is a confirmation name I got tagged on when I was confirmed in church and Fatima is my Muslim name. My full given name is Diane Marie Samson, and it’s a little bit of a story as to how I got name.

When I was born, I was the first girl born into the Samson family in many, many years. My father wanted to name me after the last girl born into the family, Rosemary, his infant sister who died just after birth. That just wouldn’t do, according to my grandmother, because in traditional Irish families, you don’t name a child after someone who died tragically or died young. So my father chose Rosemarie. Still to close, according to my grandmother (whose name was Rose and I know my father wanted to honor that, but traditional won out.) So my father chose Marie, but my mother vetoed that name. My father had a cousin named Marie and my mother thought it would be confusing. Never mind that my cousin and grandfather had the same name and there was no confusion.

So my mother was reading a movie magazine and read the name “Diane,” and she decided that was the perfect name. So did a number of other mothers because in my kindergarten class of 90 kids, there were 4 Dianes. I have never liked my name. It just doesn’t seem to fit me or to slow easily with my surname. A few years ago I tried to get people to call me “Marie,” my middle name, but that hasn’t worked out too well. So I’ve resorted to “Diane-Marie.” Even that has raised some problems in my family with my brother. He liked “Di” better.

People at my masjid know me as Fatima and that is my Muslim name. My family will not use that at all. So my name is still in question. I guess it’s “Diane-Marie” for now but I guess I’m stuck with it. I feel I don’t have the right name. That’s an awful way to feel, but that’s how I feel. And I don’t feel so great that it’s Mother’s Day because I don’t know if I’ll be ignored or given 5 minutes of my daughter’s time. I’ll be in trouble for saying this too. But I’m always in trouble for something I’ve said.
So that’s it from Diane Marie.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in My Given name and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Given Name–It’s Complicated

  1. The Hook says:

    You explained it quite well!

Leave a Reply

