A Tribute to My Uncle Bob


When someone close to you passes and you’re far away, it’s hard to know what to say or do. I will send flowers to the funeral, of course, but I feel at sixs and sevens and want to do something but know I can’t. So this blog will have to serve as my tribute to my uncle Bob.

My uncle was my father’s youngest brother. He was father to my four cousins and numerous grandchildren and great-grandchildren. He was married to my Aunt Elsie, who was my godmother. Since she was my godmother , I spent a lot of time with my uncle and cousins. Aunt Elsie died in 1975 and my uncle missed her until the day he died. He was a good father, a good husband, an excellent provider, and fine uncle.

He has been in a nursing home for many years and I visited when I could and sent gifts and flowers when I couldn’t. I hope these helped to brighten his day the way he brightened mine when I was growing up. He was always very active until his knees got bad, but through everything he kept his sense of humor.

Uncle Bob loved his family. he was devoted to his four boys and his wife. He was always kind to my brother and sister and me. He was also kind to my mother after my father’s death 30 years ago. She wasn’t forgotten by him. He checked on his other brother who was in ill health for many years and was a good brother to him. This was important to me because my uncle Don was my godfather and I cared about him very much until his death 16 years ago.

I don’t know what else to say about my uncle except that I was extremely fortunate to have him as my uncle and now that he is gone, I miss him. Rest in peace, in the arms of the angels, as they carry you to heaven, uncle Bob.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in My Uncle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

