Morning Routine


What is the first thing you do in the morning?

My morning routine is very routine, not varied at all unless there is something odd that comes up. I get up, go to the bathroom, and take my morning meds. Then I perform wudu (Muslim abultions) and brush my teeth. Then I go to say my Fajr prayers, the morning prayer said before sunrise in Islam. After that I come downstairs and check my emails and blogs while listening to the news on the TV.

This next month will change my routine since it is Ramadan. I will rise an hour earlier (4:00 a.m.) and say prayers, then eat a light breakfast and drink a lot of water because this is Ramadan and I will not be able to eat nor drink again until sunset. The I will say my Fajr prayers and continue on my day, except that I will probably read the Qur’an (a part of it) first thing in the morning.

I also drink my Benefiber faithfully or there will be problems. The eating a light breakfast during Ramadan is necessary but not something I usually do. I usually don’t eat until late afternoon. Of course during Ramadan I have to hold off until after Magrib (sunset) prayers. Fortunately the mosque provides water and a selection of fruit for breaking the fast after Magrib prayers. That is great. Then I’m done for the night. I don’t really get hungry very much and keep to eating lightly.

So I went a little beyond the morning ritual, but you get the drift.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment