Why Is There Evil In The World?


Why is there evil in the world? This is the million dollar question that most people in the world would like the answer to. It seems so unfair when bad things happen to good people. Many people have tried to answer this heavy question and no one seems to have come up with a reasonable answer.

A lot depends on whether or not you are a religious person. I am a Muslim and believe that everything happens for a reason, even evil things. There are no coincidences. We believe that evil exists in the world because of Shaytan, the evil jinn who refused to honor humans. We believe he creates the evil in the world. God allows evil as trials for us to overcome. God gives us the grace to overcome these trials. That is basically what we believe in a nutshell.

We can all learn something from the evil that takes place in the world. That is the purpose of trials. Maybe you don’t agree with this and I will be the first to admit that it is not an adequate explanation. I don’t know why there is evil, but for me, this is the best explanation we have. We all need to strive to make the world a better place and pray for protection against Shaytan. We can’t just ignore evil but we should try to combat it.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why Is There Evil In The World?

  1. I guess if we didn’t have evil we’d have nothing to compare goodness against, or really appreciate that when we see it.

  2. I agree. If we speak bad things into our life, with gossip, songs from the radio, etc, evil has a hold of us. We have to put the evil things under our feet. Don’t let it gain control.
    Speak goodness to receive goodness.

  3. The Hook says:

    What a big topic to tackle!
    You did great, though.

Leave a Reply

