Blogging


Do you blog unanimously or “as yourself”? Why?

I blog with a pseudonym. I use it because I have used it for some years now, not particularly liking my given name. I also use it because I don’t like putting my name out in public. I’ve had a couple of bad experiences years back where the use of my real name and information put me in jeopardy. It may be more difficult to threaten me the way I was threatened then, but I still don’t like to take chances. So I created an appropriate pseudonym for myself and use that on virtually everything that appears on the Internet (except FaceBook).

On the other hand, I write about my life as it is, the good and the bad. This has gotten me into trouble with my daughter when she was able to see my posts on Facebook (I have since removed them). The topics I write about, even the lame Word Press prompts, are about me and my life, so in some respects, I write as myself.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in blogging and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blogging

  1. The Hook says:

    I write as myself as well; “The Hook” is just a play on my last name.
    Great post, whoever you are!

  2. HoaiPhai says:

    Good article and I have to agree with your reasoning. I’m personally not too worried about about someone on the internet tracking me down, althought I have used the name HoaiPhai in some rather heated debates, but mostly I don’t want my employer, or potential future employers, to hold what I write about against me. I also like the idea that I’m not really myself, not to hide ot that I’m ashamed, but it’s liberating to be someone else for a little while.

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I blog under “The Idiot” but make no effort to conceal my real name….. since I am an Idiot…… If I was smart, I shoulda gone with the name “Rex Chestworthy” or something like that….. 🙂

Leave a Reply

