Books


Do you prefer to own books or borrow them from a friend or the library?

I have always preferred to own my books because I often revisit some of them and I can read them leisurely at my own pace. This has created a problem because I have a plethora of books, most right now packed away in books in my garage since my bookshelves are filled to capacity. Sometimes I like to make notes or underline text (especially in nonfiction books) which I would not be able to do in a friend’s book or a library book.

Things have changed dramatically, though, with the advent of electronic books. I am now on my third Kindle (I keep wearing them out). But I can buy my own books and not have to worry about storing them on bookshelves or in boxes. They are accessible at any time. The ones I am not currently using are stored on the Kindle server in my archives. Currently there are about 360 books in my archives and 30 or so on my Kindle. The Kindle is fantastic because I can switch back and forth between books (I usually read more than one at a time) with great ease and never lose my place or the book itself. As far as I’m concerned, the Kindle is one of the greatest inventions of the 21st century. So I own my own books but have solved the problem of storage. I can also highlight and bookmark pages in the Kindle books, as well as make notes. It is truly a remarkable invention.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Books

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I have family members that are married to their Kindles….. Me, I am an idiot….as such…I have the attention span of a flea….. an idiot flea….. Me and books don’t really get along too well…. 🙂

  2. The Hook says:

    I prefer to own, I’d rather have the material ready at any time.

Leave a Reply

