Munchie Monday


Lemon Meringue Pie

1 baked 8-inch pie shell

Filling:
1 14-ounce can of sweetened condensed milk
1/2 cup lemon juice
1 tsp grated lemon zest
3 egg yolks

Meringue:
3 egg whites
1/4 tsp cream of tartar
1/4 cup sugar

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line the unbaked pie shell in an 8-inch pie pan with parchment paper filled with dried beans. Bake the pie shell for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown. Cool.

Preheat oven to 325°F.

Filling:
In medium bowl, combine milk, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Blend in egg yolks.
Pour into cooled pie crust.

Meringue:
Beat egg whites with cream of tartar until soft peaks form. Gradually add sugar and beat until stiff peaks form.

Spread meringue on top of filling, sealing to edges of pie crust. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until meringue is golden brown. Serve cold.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Munchie Mondays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Munchie Monday

  1. Yummy, my favorite…well next to blackberry and pumpkin of course 🙂

Leave a Reply

