Where My Parents Were Born


have you been to where your parents were born? What was it like?

I lived just outside the city where my father was born, in Utica, NY. I knew the house he lived in as a child but not the house he was born in. The house he lived in as a child was built by his father, a carpenter. It was a lovely house, with a parlor, dining room, kitchen, and den on the ground floor and three bedrooms and a large bathroom on the next floor. It has a lovely garden in the back of the house where my grandmother grew roses and annuals and succulents. There was also a small vegetable garden and a grape arbor. In the front yard were shrubs and some other flowering bushes. It was much smaller than the back garden. On the front of the house was a front porch that ran along the entire front of the house. It was very pleasant in the summer. The house was situated on a street just off one of the main streets of the city, near a park.

I visited the small town where my mother was born, Forest, VA. I saw the house where she was born and where she lived until she graduated from high school. It was a large, two storied white house with a large yard and an enclosed porch. The house was necessarily large for her large family of 9 brothers and sisters and their parents. The town was a stop on the railroad line; my grandfather was the foreman of a railway maintenance crew. I also saw the school that she attended. The town had declined considerably since my mother lived there and there were only a few homes occupied in the 1960s. It was nice to be able to see where my mother grew up and lived during her childhood. I could better relate to her stories of her youth by imagining her in this town.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in where my parents were born and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where My Parents Were Born

  1. The Hook says:

    Thanks for sharing your life, and nostalgic journey through it’s past, once again.

Leave a Reply

