Random Thoughts on 9-11


I really had no intention of writing a post on 9-11. But when today dawned, I somehow couldn’t let the day go by without marking the anniversary without writing something about that nightmare of a day for America. So some randome thoughts.

I lost two friends in the tragedy. I was at home on disability leave and the television was on when it happened. My granddaughters were at preschool. My daughter was at college. Her college closed for the day but the preschool remained open. My daughter refused to turn on the television set to protect the children from seeing any of the horror of that day. Of course, in time, they have learned about it. It is impossible to protect out children from the horrors of terrorism, no matter how hard we try.

I’m sure that more terrorism will rear it’s ugly head again, despite what we do to prevent it. It’s become a game as to who can outsmart whom in the terrorists versus the rest of us.

But we must never forget the day that our country woke up to the sad fact that we are vulnerable to attack from terrorists on our own soil. Our wars against terror on foreign soil have been sorely lacking in success. The goals have been unclear and Iraq and Afghanistan are little better off today than they were 10 years ago despite the brave efforts of our military. It isn’t due to our military professionals; it’s our policies or lack thereof.

Victims of 9-11, we will never forget you. You are always in our hearts.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in 9-11 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Thoughts on 9-11

  1. HoaiPhai says:

    So well put! The peoples of the world really have to work together to make sure that organizations that espouse the use of violence to promote their ideologies are neutralized.

  2. The Hook says:

    You may have not intended to write it, but you produced a lovely piece of work, young lady. Well done

Leave a Reply

