Lost


Remember something important you’ve lost.

I use to have a good relationship with my daughter. It seems to have been lost for a number of reasons. One reason is that I converted to Islam. The fact that she doesn’t understand that has made her wary of me and my attitudes. Another reason is her marriage to my son-in-law. She understandably has allegiance to her new husband, but she seems to have given up her right to think clearly on her own and listen only to what he says. And what he says is often not worth much. He too is suspicious of my conversion to Islam and he dislikes me, for which reasons I do not know. But it has served to drive a wedge between my daughter and me and we have lost the close relationship that we once shared. She keeps things from me, even things so mundane as the fact as she installed a swimming pool at her house. Of course, she may not have wanted me to know since she owed me money on a loan I made to her and she has not repaid. It’s sad that we are not close anymore. We used to talk daily. Not we hardly ever talk and I haven’t seen her for months even though we live 3 miles from one another. I feel bad about this relationship that I’ve lost. I wish I could regain it but it’s doubtful that this will happen. So sad.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Lost and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lost

  1. HoaiPhai says:

    I agree, it’s sad. Have you tried making a scheduled weekly time for lunch or just a coffee together? Or just give her a call if she’s not calling you…life’s too short!

Leave a Reply

