Making a Decision


How do you decide how to decide?

Decisions aren’t easy. There are so many factors that go into making a decision. I take many things into consideration when making a decision. I sometimes make lists of pros and cons, of fors and againsts, in making a decision. I often ask the advice of other people who might be wiser than I in making a decision. I often consult books that I have read and even consult the Qur’an when making a decision. I figure you can’t have too much information when making a decision, especially an important one. Anything that will help clarify the issue in my mind and help me see things clearly is helpful in making a decision.

I rarely jump impulsively into making a decision. I like to take my time and mull things over. I am afraid of making a hasty decision so I take my time in the decisionmaking process. I want to gather as much information as I can to be informed as possible in making a decision, especially an important decision. I may make a tentative decision, then wait a while before making a final decision. That gives me time to let the decision sit in my mind and let me live with it for a while before actually making the decision. Then I’m more comfortable with making the decision.

Making an important decision is a big responsibility, not to be taken lightly. As much information as possible should be had to help one make the decision and one can make a better decision.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Decision and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making a Decision

  1. The Hook says:

    I let my wife think for me!

Leave a Reply

