Free Will


Do you believe in free-will or is life predetermined?

Before I start on my rant, I will say that I believe we’ve had a similar prompt, and sure enough, I found in my tags the words “free will” so I know we’ve written on this before. That said, let the rant proceed.

I’m a Muslim and my religion teaches me that I have free will. I have a choice to make every day between good and evil, between right and wrong. As a person, when I I see a situation, I have a choice to make to make the situation better or to walk away from it and not involve myself. These things are not predetermined. They are based on the decisions that I make for myself based on my free will and my moral compass.

Moral compass–we all have one. We choose to use it or we don’t. For some of us, it’s easier to just pretend we don’t have one and do whatever we please at any given moment. For others, our moral compass is our guide to how we live our live, according to our free will, even if it puts us out a little from what we would rather be doing at that particular time. It’s a question of values.

We all have free will but it’s how we use our free will that counts. Will we use it to better our society and ourselves or will we use it to think only of ourselves. I don’t believe that anything is predetermined. Take, for example, the young man who was under the car after a motorcycle accident last week. A group of people risked their own lives to lift the car and pull him to safety. They didn’t have to do that A predeterminist would say he was predetermined to die under that car. But those people were determined to save that young man’s life. It was their free will to life that car and pull him out that saved his life.

That’s why I believe in free will and not in life being predetermined.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Free Will

  1. HoaiPhai says:

    I have to agree with you..the universe would have no meaning if everything was just a giant clockwork!

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I agree. I totally believe in Free-Will 🙂

  3. The Hook says:

    I beleive in free will, but I also believe in fate!
    Quite the contradiction, right?

Leave a Reply

