Broken Heart


Write a piece where you explore your first broken heart.

I had been dating Kevin on and off for nearly two years during our first two years of high school. He was a friend of my friend Nancy’s boyfriend and we often double dated. He asked me to my first formal dance. I remember I talked my mother into letting me buy my dress for that dance rather than have her make the dress as she normally would have.

Kevin was the first boy I ever kissed. I knew he wanted to kiss me because he told Nancy’s boyfriend and she told me. I was so nervous. We met at Nancy’s boyfriend’s house and they left us alone in the living room for a while before we went out so that Kevin could make his move. And he kissed me.

When it came time for junior prom, I mentioned at our lunch table that I was thinking of asking Kevin. (I went to an all girls’ school.) Nancy said, “Don’t ask him.” I said, “Why?” She said, “I’ll tell you later.” Later when we were alone, she told me that Kevin had said to some boys at his school that I was a cold fish. I felt terrible. My heart was broken. Of course I couldn’t ask him to the prom when he had said that about me. It felt like I had been punched in the gut. I was so hurt. I was a very shy, modest girl. If that’s what a cold fish was, then I guess I was it. I asked a boy from another high school and who was also shy and we had a nice time. But I never forgot what it felt like to have my heart broken by the boy I cared about.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Broken Heart and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Broken Heart

  1. That is so sad. How could he have done that to a nice person like you….I hope that he was miserable for the rest of his life…serve him right…the rat..

  2. HoaiPhai says:

    Very sad… it’s too bad you never spoke to him about it because boys that age sometimes are not 100% truthful with their friends. Maybe you could have had a good time or found some kind of closure.

  3. The Hook says:

    You open your heart to share the pain, loss and joy within very easily, young lady. I don’t mean this as a slight; I envy your ability to do so.
    Good for you.

Leave a Reply

