Munchie Mondays


Coq au Vin

24-30 pearl onions
2-3 cups of water
4 chicken legs and thighs or 1 stewing chicken cut into pieces
Kosher salt
Freshly ground pepper
1/4-1/2 cup flour
2 Tbsp water
6 oz salt pork
8 oz button mushrooms, quartered
1 oz unsalted butter
2 bottles red wine (pinot noir)
2 Tbsp tomato paste
1 medium onion, quartered
2 stalks celery, quartered
2 medium carrots, quartered
3 cloves garlic, crushed
6 – 8 fresh springs thyme
1 bay leaf
2 cups chicken stock or broth

Cut off root end of each pearl onion and make an “X” with your knife in the place. Bring 2-3 cups of water to a boil and drop in the pearl onions for 1 minute. Remove the onions from the pot and allow to cool, then peel. Set aside.

Sprinkle chicken on all sides with salt and pepper. Place chicken in large plastic bag with flour, a few pieces at a time. Shake to coat the chicken. Remove chicken and set aside on metal rack.

Ad 2 Tbsp of water to a large sauté pan over medium heat along with salt pork and cook until water is gone. Continue to cook until pork is golden brown and crispy (about 8-10 minutes). Remove from pan. Set aside.

In same pan, add pearl onions with some salt and pepper and sauté until golden brown (8-10 mintes) Remove from pan and set aside.

In same pan, brown chicken a few pieces at a time until brown on each side. Transfer to 7-8 quart enameled cast iron Dutch oven.

Add mushrooms to sauté pan,add 1 Tbsp butter and cook until they give up liquid (5 minutes). Store mushrooms, onions, and pork in airtight container overnight in refrigerator.

Pour off remaining fat and deglaze large sauté pan with 1 cup of wine. Pour this into Dutch oven with chicken, chicken stock,tomato paste, quartered onion, celery, carrots, garlic, thyme, and bay leaf. Add rest of wine.Cover with airtight lid and refrigerate overnight.

Next day, preheat over to 325°F, Place chicken in oven and cook 2 to 2 1/2 hours or until tender. Maintain a gentle simmer. Stir occasionally.
Once chicken is done, remove to heatproof dish and keep warm in oven. Cover. Strain sauce in colander and place sauce in sauce pan over medium heat and reduce by 1/3 ( 20-45 minutes). [ If needed to thicken sauced, add butter and flour, 1 Tbsp each at a time to sauce and cook for 5 minutes.] Once sauce has thickened, add pearl onions, mushrooms, pork. Cook 15 minutes to heat through. Remove from heat and add chicken. Serve over egg noodles.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Munchie Mondays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Munchie Mondays

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    now I’m starving….. 🙂

  2. HoaiPhai says:

    I was just speaking with my wife about coq au vin for our weekend days off menu. This sounds like a great version of an old favourite…I’m giving it a try!

Leave a Reply

