Changing Habits


How do you change your habits?

It’s difficult to change habits. Most of our habits are deeply set within us, and it’s hard to change them.

When I want to change one of my habits, I make a sincere intention to do so, then I try to change the circumstances that surround that habit so that I have a better chance of changing it. For example, I wanted to read a section of the Qur’an each day. So I set my alarm for a half hour before the morning prayer and read the Qur’an for the half hour before the prayer to make sure that i would read the Qur’an every day. It was not easy at first. I was tired at first but I started to do it during Ramadan when I have to get up early to eat anyway and then carried it over into the month following and just kept doing it. So now I have a new habit that I can be proud of.

I signed up to take some classes at the senior center this term. I’ve done this before but often missed them because I was just to lazy to go. But This time I decided to make a real effort to go to the classes. I required a lot of will power and preparation to get my self ready to go but I have gone for the past two weeks, better than I have in the past. I am proud of myself for having gotten myself out and gone to class through sheer will power.

Will poer is, for me, very important. I have to really want to do something very badly in order to change a habit I’ve gotten into. These two examples are but two of the ways I’ve used my will power to overcome some old habits and institute new olds that are good for me.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Changing Habits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Changing Habits

  1. The Hook says:

    Change certainly isn’t easy.

  2. HoaiPhai says:

    I’m with The Hook on this one. I’m a creature of many bad habits, most of which I’d change if I had the willpower. Congratulation on making positive changes in your life!

  3. Steve says:

    Hi, I stumbled across your blog and just wanted to say Congratulations! It sounds like you’ve got a gift for ‘faithfulness’; meaning that you commit to a plan and stick with it until it’s become habit. I just wanted to add that I think there are two other INCREDIBLY important ingredients to changing habits: Accountability and Encouragement. I wonder if you were getting those anywhere as you made your changes?

Leave a Reply

