Peace in the Middle East?


Do you think peace in the Middle East is possible?

Anything is possible. Is peace in the Middle East probable? No. Why? Because the parties involved are unwilling to compromise at all on any issue whatsoever. Peace would be easy if the parties involved would be willing to sit down and be involved in honest give-and-take, true compromise. But the Israelis in particular will not give an inch and refuse to allow the Palestinians to have any amount of freedom or rights whatsoever, so a people under oppression will never be able to live under peace. Some concessions by Israel must be made in order for there to be peace in the Middle East and they refuse to make any concessions. Therefore peace will not occur in the Middle East unless and until Israel is willing to make concessions to the Palestinians and the Palestinians are willing to agree to curtail violence. Since neither side is willing to compromise, peace is unlikely.

Peace in general is possible between two sides if they are both willing to compromise in good faith. But this is highly unlikely in the Middle East.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Peace in the Middle East? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Peace in the Middle East?

  1. misswhiplash says:

    A very good answer to a very difficult question. I think that you are brave to tackle it. I saw it and thought ‘ no way’ its too political for me and I don’t know much about it apart from what I see on TV.

    You did well!

  2. HoaiPhai says:

    Good answer. The issue extends beyond Israel and Palestine. Unfortunately most of the Middle East is in turmoil now because the majority of the countries in the region are dictatorships whose peoples are rising up in favour of democracy and freedom.

  3. The Hook says:

    I like your answer. Sadly, I think peace is beyond the current prevailing mind-set in the Middle East.

Leave a Reply

