Books in the Library


What book did you always take out from the school library?

I usually took out historical novels. I liked to read about other time periods and be transported to other periods of history. I tended to identify with one or more of the characters and become involved in their lives and in their story. An example of this is Wuthering Heights. I identified very strongly with Catherine and and could be transported back to 19th century England through this book and could become part of this story. There were many other historical novels which I read and I’ve forgotten about: Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Manor, (Jane Austen was a favorite) which I am now rereading) and found myself identifying with the characters in the books. I also took out books about ancient civilizations, such as ancient Egypt and the ancient Maya. I loved archaeology and at one point wanted to become an archaeologist before I got married. I also loved biographies. These were the books I really loved and the books regularly took out of the school library and the public library. The librarians knew me well and I was a regular patron. I still am an avid reader but now I usually read books on my Kindle, but I still read some books not availabe on my Kindle in paperback. I haven’t given up “real” books completely. And I read “real” books to the child I tutor in reading at the elementary school. Those I take out of the library. So I haven’t given up on the library either.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Books in the Library

  1. sonsothunder says:

    I granted you the “Versatile Blogger Award”

    Have Fun
    paul

  2. The Hook says:

    Doctor Who novels, of course!

  3. Oh my gosh, I can’t believe you brought up Wuthering Heights. I haven’t had the chance to read the book, but probably because I’ve seen the 1939 movie starring Sir Laurence Olivier and Merle Oberon like a hundred times! It’s my favorite movie. 1939 was such a good year for movies anyway. There was not only this one, but “Gone With the Wind”, “The Wizard of Oz”, “Mr. Smith Goes to Washington”, “The Hunchback of Notre Dame”; too many to count. I love black and whites. I think all the wonderful actors/actresses are gone or on their way out. ((sigh)) When I read for some reason I tend to gravitate towards mystery and horror. Go figure, huh? I wonder if that makes me well-rounded. 😉

  4. HoaiPhai says:

    I’ve wanted to read (or see a good movie version of) Wuthering Heights for the longest time… since hearing Kate Bush’s song of the same name.

Leave a Reply

