Wednesday Hodgepodge


1. It is officially fall here in North America…I realize not everyone who participates in the Hodgepodge lives in North America, but if you do what’s your favourite memory of Summer 2011? If you’re not in North America, what’s your favourite memory of the season just ending on your side of the world?

My favorite memory is my granddaughters returning from their summer visit with their father in Californis. They were there most of the summer and I missed them so much.

2. Your favourite nut? You know I mean the edible kind, right?

I love pistachios. I also like cashews, walnuts, and almonds.

3. What activity puts your sense of balance to the test?

Riding a roller coaster…I have real problems with that.

4. How would you describe your sense of humour?

Subtle, sarcastic, I like puns, silly. I like pictures with funny captions.

5. September 28th is National Ask a Stupid Question Day…what’s your stupid question?

Why do we call low spots where water fills up quickly during rain storms “low water crossings”? Shouldn’t they be “high water crossings”?

6. Roller skates~hula hoop~jump rope…which activity would you most enjoy? Yes, you have to choose.

Jump rop. I’m really low tech.

7. What’s your most sentimental possession?

My grandmother’s watch and engagement ring.

8. Insert your own random thought here.We got rain twice this week. Not everyone got rain. We got it the first time but not last night, but it seems our dry spell may be broken. Just as I go on vacation in 2 weeks.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge

  1. sterlingsop says:

    I hope you have a great vacation!

  2. HoaiPhai says:

    Great answers athat I can identify with. National Ask a Stupid Question Day? Now I know!

  3. I related to quite a few of your answers. Pistachio’s are my absolute ‘favorite nut’, since you required it to be edible and I couldn’t answer Spectra. 😉 Hate roller coaster’s, but that has more to do with heights (Ferris Wheels are the worst for me). My sense of humor is dry, but unlike yours mine just drips with sarcasm. My most sentimental possession isn’t one of the family heirlooms handed down to me though, it IS roller skates (my mom spent a great deal on an expensive pair for me on my 14th birthday, I had so much fun on them, and still have them to this day. It reminds me of a simpler time).
    Vacation, huh? Now is a wonderful time. Fall is my favorite season. Not too hot, not too cold, and natures colors are magnificent. Enjoy yourself!

Leave a Reply

