Mustang Island


What vacation spot to you return to again and again?

Funny this should come up, since I’m going on vacation in two weeks time. I like to go to Mustang Island, near Port Aransas, which is a part of North Padre Island, one of the barrier islands on the coast of Texas in the Gulf of Mexico. I love the ocean. I love the coast of Maine the best with its rocks but since I live here I’ll take what I can get.

I like to go in the Fall when There aren’t quite so many tourist and the weather is cooler (I hope; it was 101 on Sunday!). I like to go for long walks on the beach, go horseback riding on the beach, and just sit and read on the beach. I have a bed and breakfast 3 blocks from the beach and there are restaurants within walking distance.

This year I might try my hand at fishing in the bay. I’ve never been fishing on a boat in the bay. I’ve been fishing in a little boat on a lake and fishing in a stream but not on a bay. It’s not expensive and you rent the gear. The restaurants will even cook your catch, should you be so lucky. It would be an adventure.

I’m going for 4 days, just to have a little break from the day to day routine. I love the ocean there. It’s very peaceful and quiet–just what I need. I love the area and it’s not too far. I like to go every few years and it’s been far too long.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Mustang Island and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mustang Island

  1. Have a really lovely time Maire, and just occassionally think of us

  2. HoaiPhai says:

    I’d so love to see Texas. So much history and beauty there and I’m dying to try a real Texas BBQ! Where I keep going back to is Seoul, Korea. It’s so beautiful, clean, and bustling. Their BBQs are great, too! The tables in some restaurants have a metal pot in the middle flush with the table-top and when you order BBQ, they fill the pot with live coals and turn on the ventilator. They bring you whatever meat you want, cut up and marinated Korean style!

  3. Isn’t it strange how one person can look at a place as home and almost take it for granted, and this same place may be another’s ideal vacation destination? I have to laugh because I’ve been wanting to visit Maine and Massachusetts my whole life, and it’s one of the places I’ve never gotten to. Texas…never had a desire.
    I hope you have a wonderful vacation. Sometimes all we need is just a change of scenery to invigorate and make the same ol’, same ol’ seem fresh and new again.

Leave a Reply

