Sick on Vacation


What should you do when sick on vacation?

A nightmare! Especially with me leaving on vacation in a little more than a week. I don’t want to think about it! But it happens. I knw. I’ve been through it.

Two summers ago, my niece got married in New York and I flew up to go to the wedding. I stayed in a lovely bed and breakfast. The morning of the wedding I woke up with the worst migraine. I tried everything to get it under control but nothing worked. I couldn’t go to the wedding. I was crushed, but it made no sense to go to the wedding and be sick the entire time so I stayed in my room at the bed and breakfast and slept the migraine off.

I’ve had other trips where I’ve had migraines attack me and found that the best thing to do is just to give in and sleep them off. It’s too much to try to fight through them; I only feel worse and the migraine lasts longer. It’s always a disappointment but these things happen in life. A migraine happened to me one day on a cruise and I had to spend a day in bed. Luckily it was a day a sea so I didn’t miss a day of sightseeing but there’s not much you can do if you’re sick. To try to tough it out only makes you and everyone around you miserable. You don’t enjoy the day and chances are the illness lasts longer than if you’d taken a day to recuperate. That is the sad fact of getting sick on vacation.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Sick on Vacation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sick on Vacation

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Worst I had was this past summer when I had an infected wisdom tooth the whole 10 days we were on vacation in the mountains. I just tried to tell myself…”Would you rather be miserable here….or back in hot Texas?” …. it made it a little more bearable….. 🙂

  2. Judith says:

    I don’t have migraines but I can sympathise. Hope it didn’t hang around too long. 🙂

  3. HoaiPhai says:

    I take vacations so seldom that the odds are against me being sick on one!

Leave a Reply

