Influential Books


What five books have influenced you most?

Here are the five books that have been the most influential in my life:
1. Qu’ran
1. Bible
3. Encyclopedia of Archaeology
4. World of Egyptology
5. The Amelia Peabody Emerson Mysteries by Elizabeth Peters

The Qu’ran and the Bible are pretty sel-explanatory. I am Muslim and before I converted to Islam I was a Christian and these two holy books are very important to me.

I am very interested in archaeology and this book is a comprehensive work of worldwide archaeology which covers and wide range of topics and areas. The book on Egyptology is my first love in archaeology and has influenced me greatly. The books of Elizabeth Peters are novel abut the archaeology of Egypt and a family of Egyptologists that I have come to love.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Influential Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Influential Books

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Good list 🙂

  2. HoaiPhai says:

    No one ever mentions the phone book. With the phone book I got information to get me in college where I met a woman who became my friend who told me about a job for which I made an appointment for an interview over the phone. I got the job and I met the woman that became my wife! Phone books are very underrated!

Leave a Reply

