Munchie Mondays


Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1 tsp finely grated lemon zest
2/3 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
4 tsp poppy seeds
1/2 cup milk
1 Tbsp granulated sugar for topping

Pre heat oven to 375°F.
Lightly brush a 12 cup muffin tim with butter or line with muffin papers. and set aside.
Sift flour, baking powder, and salt together in medium bowl and set aside.
In mixing bowl, cream butter, lemon zest, and sugar until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Scrape down sides with rubber spatula. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Remove bowl from mixture. Stir in poppy seeds. Fold in flour mixture in 3 parts into butter mixture, alternating the milk in 2 parts. until just combined. Do not over mix the batter. Divide the batter evenly into the muffin tin and sprinkle the sugar over the top.
Bake until golden brown about 25 minutes. Cool muffins in the pan on a rack. Serve warm.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Munchie Mondays, Poppy seed Muffins and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Munchie Mondays

  1. arlihama says:

    This is perfect! I’ve been looking for a good recipe for lemon poppy seed muffins! ♥

  2. HoaiPhai says:

    They sound great!

Leave a Reply

