Secrets and Best Friends


Is there anything you wouldn’t tell your best friend?

If I had a significant other, I wouldn’t tell my best friend things that were going on between him and me. I believe that those things should be kept private and getting a third party involved just complicates things and is not good. A therapist is a different matter but a best friend: no.

I also wouldn’t tell a best friend some of my deepest and darkest secrets, and I do have some that only my therapist has heard and no one else on earth as heard. There are some things that are just too personal and private to share even with your best friend. It would serve no purpose. She would not be abe to help me with them and who knows where my secrets would end up?

There are just some things that shouldn’t be shared. I’ve learned this the hard way.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Secrets and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Secrets and Best Friends

  1. The Hook says:

    You come up with the best topics!

  2. Judith says:

    Yes I agree. There are some things not to be shared even with best friends.:

  3. HoaiPhai says:

    I’m with you on this one, too. Somethings are best kept to oneself.

Leave a Reply

