Siblings


Are you the oldest, youngest, or middle child? Talk about your siblings.

I am the oldest of three children. I have a brother who is nearly two years years than me and a sister who is almost three years younger. So we’re all pretty close in age. This was tough on my mother with three children all under the age of three, in a rural part of the country with no car, isolated from most people except for church on Sunday. No wonder she was a little nuts.

I always felt responsible for my brother and sister. They were closer to each other than I was to them, but I felt responsible for their behavior so I was constantly trying to smooth over squabbles and fights. I remember one time when my parents had left us time when our parents had left us home alone for an hour or so in the afternoon in the wintertime. I was in my room reading and my brother and sister and outside playing. My sister ran inside and locked my brother out of the house. He pounded on the window of the back door and broke the window. Thanks to his mitten he was not hurt but the window was smashed. I was so scared that my parents would blame me for not watching them. We all emptied out our banks to pay for the broken window. Our parents were just glad no one was hurt. Then they wer upset with my brother and sister.

My sister was a tremendous sneak at Christmas time. She always managed to find where the Christmas presents were hidden. I loved surprises and didn’t want to know what my present were. She blackmailed me by saying she would tell me what my presents were unless I gave her money. She would also sneak into my closet after I had let for school in the morning (I went to a different high school than she did and wore uniforms) and wear my clothes. Then on the weekends I would look for my clothes and find them on the floor in her room.We didn’t get on all that well as teens but we get along well now.

My brother and I have never been close but he has relied on me when he needs something to be smoothed over. I have been the mediator between him and my sister even now that they are adults. I guess somew thigns never change,

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Siblings

  1. HoaiPhai says:

    What is it with sisters? Mine used to lock me out, too!

Leave a Reply

