Holiday–FInally


Talk about one important thing that happened between last Friday and today.

One important thing that happened between last Friday and today was that I FINALLY went on holiday. It was not easy, though. Usually I pack everything early and am ready to go two days before my palnned departure. This time I almost felt like it wouldn’t happen and I also didn’t want to make my dogs think there was something strange going on, so I didn’t pack until the morning I left.

It had been raining hard all night and was pouring that day (Sunday). I dreaded driving for 3 hours to the coast in the pouring rain so I was a bit nervous, but even with my nerves, I on ly forgot one thing. I made a list (I always do) and the thing I forgot was not that important. In the pouring rain I packed the car and then loaded in the dogs for the trip to the puppy resort.

There was a glitch at the puppy resort. My vet had put the wrong date for Ernie’s next rabies vaccination on his certificate and he had to be revaccinated. Luckily this is a hospital so they can do it. They will also get their flu shots while they are there. They were good boys while we were waiting to get checked in and they got a suite together with a window. Only the best for my boys. Then I started out for the coast.

It poured off and on between San Antonio and the coast but as I neared Corpus Christi the rain started to get heavier. By the time I reached the brudge to Padre Island it was pouring again. I arrived at my motel around 4 p.m. and it is very cozy. I have an efficiency with two bedrooms, so I’m using one bedroom for my clothes. The owner are sweet people and very helpful. It’s three blocks from the beach which is quite handy.

Last night I went a few blocks away to a place I know well and had a nice dinner and brought home a doggie bag (for me) so I have dinner for tonight as well. There are numerous souvenir shops on this street so I may stop in to some and pick up some trinkets for the girls and my sister later today or tomorrow. I might get something for myself even.

I am going out soon to forage for huge cinnamon rolls that a big enough to feed one for three days. I know where they are. I can’t wait. Then I plan to walk on the beach for a while and play in the water. The rains have passed by and the rest of the week looks good, weatherwise. I shall be here until Thursday.

So that’s the imprtant thing that I have done since Friday. I done my hair cut on Friday after Juma’a so I am all set for fun in the sun (or clouds, whichever). I am looking forward to a relaxing time these next few days in Port Aransas. Who knows? Maybe I’ll even go fishing.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Holiday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Holiday–FInally

  1. Tilly Bud says:

    I have always wanted to holiday alone, just once. Enjoy!

  2. The Hook says:

    Enjoy yourself, young lady!

  3. HoaiPhai says:

    Ahh, cinnamon rolls! That got my attention!

Leave a Reply

