At the Beach


Just thought I’d take a few minutes out of my early morning before I make my way to the beach to tell you all about my holiday. I arrived on Sunday after dropping the dogs at the puppy resort. It was pouring rain in San Antonio; in fact, there was a tornado in Southwest San Antonio (I live in the Northwest). I drove for three hours through periods of dry weather and pouring rain to reach Corpus Christi. The closer I got yo Corpus Christi, the worse the weather got. When I crossed the bridge to Padre Island, The rain was coming down in buckets. But then it started to clear a little.

I found my motel which is very nice and cozy and within walking distance to many eateries and the beach and souvenir shops. I walked to a place I know well for dinner and had a lovely dinner and had an early night in preparation for a day at the beach.

When I went to the beach Monday, it was low tide, with high surf and tide pools from the storm the day before. I walked on the beach and then read lying on my towel on the beach. The tourists had mostly gone home and I had the beach practically to myself. I decided not to go fishing as red tide is infecting the area around Port Aransas right now. I walked on the beached Tuesday and took some time out to have my nails done since I broke one on Sunday in the packing frenzy. Today I plan to go horseback riding on the beach, which will be fun. Tomorrow I go home, but I plan on getting a henna tattoo before I go and buy some souvenirs.

So that’s the story of my holiday. It’s been lovely and relaxing and everything I’d hoped it would be. I couldn’t ask for more.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in At the Beach and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to At the Beach

  1. The Hook says:

    I’m glad you had fun. You deserved it!

  2. misswhiplash says:

    Tell me what is a red sea?
    I am happy that you had a good break and that you took your kindle with you. I am dying to see mine next week.

    have a safe journey home

    love P

  3. Aw…so glad you had a great trip 🙂 Sounds relaxing!!!

  4. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Glad you are having a good time 🙂

Leave a Reply

