Freedom


What is freedom?When do you feel most free in your day? Least free? When is it better not to be free?

Freedom is having the opportunity to do things that you want to do while not hurting or imposing your will on anyone else. Everyone has the right to be free. I feel the most free in my day during the mornings when I first wake up, when I read my Qu’ran and say my prayers. I feel free to be able to do that because I live in a country where I have that freedom. I feel least free in the evening when I have commitments to classes and walking the dogs. I can’t think of a time when it is better not to be free. Freedom is so important and something that all people should strive for. It is not doing whatever you want, but being able to do what you want while not hurting or imposing your will on others. And our freedom was won by our brave men and women in the armed forces who fought for it. We must never forget that.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in freedom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Freedom

  1. misswhiplash says:

    That was a good post. Freedom..because we have it we take it for granted, we believe it is our right and its not till you hear of other countries and peoples whose life is not free that you begin to realise just how important freedom is

Leave a Reply

