In Between Austin and Mexico


List two things (however close of far) that your current hometown is between.

I currently live in San Antonio, Texas. In Texas, things are not too near each other. Things are sort of spread out. So While San Antonio is between two places, they aren’t all that close. Well, one is. That would be Austin, Texas, the state capital. Austin is a beautiful, weird city. I lived there for five years and loved every minute of it though I didn’t think I would. It was right after my divorce but I made so many friends and enjoyed myself so much in Austin. If you don’t enjoy yourself in Austin, it’s your own fault. It’s the music capital of Texas. There is always so exhibition of musical gathering going on. There is theater, art, opera, ballet, symphony, whatever. The legislature is even entertaining. The is hiking and biking for you oudoorsy people. It is a little bit of paradise on a lake in cnetral Texas, about 70 miles north of San Antonio.

To the sooth about 200 miles or so is our neighbor to the south, as the saying goes, Mexico. Just to prove that, we have immigration stops as far north as San Antonio.We have a lot of Mexican immigrants in our city and Mexican cultural influence is prominent. People go on day trips to Mexico all the time, especially to get their medicines which are muy way cheaper than the outrageous prices you pay here for prescriptions drugs. We have a large retired military population here and lots of those folks go across the border to get their meds. Thinds are a little more iffy now on the border now with the drug cartels fighting their wars so you have to be careful. But a day trip to Mexico is a nice thing.

Those are the two places my current hometown of San Antoni is between and they are good places to be in between.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in In Between Austin and Mexico and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

