Being True to Yourself


How do you stay true to yourself?

First of all, what does “staying true to yourself” mean? I think it means having integrity, being honest with yourself, not lying to yourself, being who you believe yourself to be, living up to your principles.

How do I do that? I stay grounded in reality. I keep in touch with my spiritual nature, which is very important to me. I am a Muslim, so I make sure that I say my five required daily prayers and I read from the Qu’ran daily. I try to live by the principles in the Qu’ran and abide by the five pillars of Islam. These things help me immensely in living my life with integrity. I try to live my life the way I want others to treat me. Sometimes I mess up and make a colossal mistake and when I realize it, I apologize and ask for forgiveness.

I made a huge mistake and hurt someone very badly and asked for forgiveness several months ago but these people have not forgiven me and I have been terribly upset by this but I realize that I brought it on myself and there is not much I can do about it. I am trying to repair the relationship slowly and don’t know how things will turn out or if things will ever be the same, but at least I’m trying. That’s part of being true to oneself. To admit your mistakes and to try to correct them. To know yourself. That’s being true to yourself.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Being true to yourself and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Being True to Yourself

  1. misswhiplash says:

    The only time that you can fail in mending a relationship is when you give up..so keep at it.

    Your prayers will see you through it and know that God is with you

  2. The Hook says:

    Its not always easy!

  3. Judith says:

    Do keep trying – knowing that you really want to mend this relationship will help you when it seems impossible.

Leave a Reply

