Living toward the Future, Examining the Past


Do we live life forwards bur examine it backwards?

Kirkegard was right, I think. We are always moving forward in our lives, looking ahead to each new experience. We anticipate the next new thing in our lives and keep ever moving forward. That is the natural order of life. Time moves forward; so do our lives.

But even as our lives move forward and we live then moving forward, we are constantly reexamining out past and looking for ways to correct our mistakes or to change things we have done in order to make our next experiences better. We don’t just dwell in the past to berate ourselves for past errors or to relive glory-filled days. That would be foolish. But it is not foolish to look back over our past experiences to see how they can affect our future experiences, how we can make our future experiences better by examining our pasts.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in The future and the Past and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Living toward the Future, Examining the Past

  1. misswhiplash says:

    my feeling is that the past is in the past..there is nothing I can do to change what has gone before. I agree that there are happenings, which had I given more consideration to at the time, would have made my life a lot easier now. But I cannot change it, no matter how hard I contemplate..so the past stays in the past.
    Head up, eyes forward..look to the future and trust in the Lord, whoever you consider Him to be

Leave a Reply

