What Happens When We Die


What do you think happens after you die?

What we think happens after death is strongly influened by our religious beliefs. I am Muslim so my beliefs are strongly influenced by what I read in the Qu’ran.

I believe that an angel will accompany my soul to a waiting place until the day of Judgment or the Day of Resurrection, when all people will rise and be judged by God. For the dead this may seem like the twinkling of the eye, since time is relative in the afterlife. On the Day of Judgment, The righteous people will go to Gardens of Delight, to Paradise, where I hope to be because of my life on earth where I lived a good life. There will be couches of rich brocade and pillows on which to recline, with servants who fill out cups with refreshing drinks that will not intoxicate us. There will be abundant fruits and fowl and pleasure mates for us. We will wear green robes of the finest silk and brocade and wear jewelry of gold and pearls. We will lack for nothing. We will see our relatives who have lived a virtuous life and be together. Clear streams of water will flow through the gardens and water them and keep them cool and verdant.

Those who did not lead virtuous lives will be assigned to the fires of Gehenna. The fires will never die and they will be given mucky slime to drink and bitter food. Theirs will be an agonizing existence.

That is what I believe happens when we die.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in What happens when we die and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

