Like Father, Like Daughter


Between your mother and father, who are you more alike?

I would have to say that I am definitely more like my father. My father was a quiet person who loved to read and work on his woodworking projects and stayed pretty much to himself. My mother was much more outgoing and gregarious and loved being around people. She was also very opinionated. I am a loner, more like my father. I love to read and could stay at home for days on end without going out and interacting with people. I don’t have to be around people and actually avoid going out to be with people. My mother was a hypercritical person and wouldn’t hesitate to give you her opinion. I don’t like to give my opinion to people unless I’m forced. I don’t like to criticize people unless it’s something serious. I don’t like going out and being with people just to get out. I would much rather stay home. I would much rather curl up with a good book or work on a mosaic piece than go out.I would rather have a few good friends than man acquaintances. I don’t like to force my opinion on people. I believe that each person is entitled to his or her own opinion. I am much more like my father than my mother. Maybe that’s why I got on better with my father than with my mother when I was growing up and even into adulthood.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Like Father and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Like Father, Like Daughter

  1. Judith says:

    I think I get my Polly-anna attitude from my father. He too could always see a challenge rather than a problem. Good post. 🙂

  2. I’m definitely like my mother. My father was quiet, stoic, and almost incapable of showing physical affection. My mother was loud, dramatic, had no filter on her mouth and cussed like a trucker, and hugged often. I have no idea how they were so much in love for 42 years till she passed. Funny though, my husband is a lot like my father, and we also seem to be making it work. Well…most of the time.

  3. HoaiPhai says:

    I’m a bit of both parents… I’m easy-going like my mom but have a breaking point like my dad. I’m a great listener like my mom but have a technical and logical mind like my dad. I also sound like my dad… a stranger once recognized my dad’s laugh in me and asked me if we were related!

Leave a Reply

