Five Moments


If your life flashed before your eyes, what are five moments that you know would be included?

One moment that would definitely flash before my eyes would be the birth of my daughter. Her birth was touchy, as the placenta was tearing away from the uterine wall and she wasn’t getting oxygen and I had to have an emergency cesarean section. It was touch and go for a while but she was eventually okay but it was a scary time.

Another event that would flash before my eyes would be my wedding to Sabrina’s father. He was the love of my life and our wedding was really special, so that was something that I will always remember.

Another not so pleasant event that I’ll remember will be the way my second husband served me with divorce papers. I arrived home from work after driving from Austin where I had been working all week to find a process server in my driveway to serve me with divorce papers. This, after my husband had told me that he would not divorce me. How cruel.

I will always remember being thrown out of my daughter’s house after her dog bit me when I was house-sitting for their dogs. Her husband got mad at me and thought I had provoked the dog and threw me out of the house. How bizarre.

The final moment would be the birth of my granddaughters. They were the sweetest little things and I was thrilled to be a grandmother.

Some of the moments are happy and special; others are nightmare moments. But they are all unforgettable.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Five Moments, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Moments

  1. HoaiPhai says:

    Some of your moments cause a few moments of my own to flash before my eyes. Keep your chin up!

Leave a Reply

