No Return Flight


Have you ever not made a return ticket? Talk about that one-way flight.

The only time I haven’t made a return ticket is when I have been traveling to a variety of different cities and would eventually return home but not until after I had visited a number of different cities. I supposed that shouldn’t count, but it does because I say so. The worse trip I took like this was a trip to from San Antonio to Milwaukee, then to Phoenix, then to Minneapolis, then finally back to San Antonio. It consisted of stopping in a number of different airports to make connections, which was a disaster in itself. From San Antonio I went to Dallas-Fort Worth, then to Milwaukee, from Milwaukee to Denver then to Phoenix, from Phoenix to Minneapolis, from Minneapolis to St. Louis, and from St. Louis to San Antonio.

The last leg of the trip was the worst. My uncle had died that week in New York and I had come down witha a terrible migraine headache. When I arrived at the airport to catch my flight, I was so sick that an ambulance had to take me to a nearby hospital and stabilize me and I had to take a flight out the next day. Unfortunately my luggage was on the original flight. I stayed the night at my hotel where I had been staying and they were very good about checking on me and making sure I was okay. I was well enough to fly by stil had the migraine the next day. It was the worst flight I ever had.

These were the worst flights that I ever had to take. I usually don’t mind travelling but these back to back to back flights along with my uncle’s death were just too much for me to take.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in No Return Flight and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

