Between School Years


What did you do between school years?

Between school years, I usually had a quiet summer. It was a time for me to read all the books I wanted. My friends and I loved to read Nancy Drew mysteries and we would exchange books over the summer, especially as we got new books in the series.

I often went to summer school in the summer to take extra classes. For example, One summer, I took a speed reading class offered by our school district and also took a typing class, as well as taking a swimming class to get my beginner’s swimmer’s card.

My brother, sister, and I often went swimming to a dam which was a swimming area near our house. We also went to the high school swimming pool in the village. Sometimes on a Sunday, my family would go to the lake with a picnic lunch and swim in the lake and play at the beach at the lake.

Sometimes we went to the park in the village where there was a day camp. They had arts and crafts and we played games. It was fun to do on some days.

We also visited our friends from schools during the summer. We would spend the day at each other’s houses and that was a pleasant way to spend a day.

On Independence Day, we would go to our grandparents’ house which was near the park in the city where there was a fireworks display. We met my aunt and uncle and cousins there. We would all walk over to the park listen to the band play and to watch the fireworks display and then go back to my grandparents’ house for lemonade and iced tea.

During August, when the raspberries ripened, we would go to my grandfather’s sister’s house and pick the raspberries that grew on her trellises. My mother would make pies and can the rest of the raspberries to eat in the wintertime. The fresh raspberries were so tasty that we probably ate as many raspberries as we picked.

We also spent some days walking with my grandfather in the woods. My grandfather loved the woods and we would pick wild blackberries on our walks, and our mother would bake a blackberry pie. My grandfather would tell us stories about his youth and about the things we saw in the forest. Those were beautiful days.

When I was older, I became involved with community theater and much of my time was spent working with costumes and props for the plays that were being put on by the theater group. I loved working with the theater group. I even had a role in one of the plays they put on.

When I was in high school, we students had required reading lists of about ten books that we had to read for the summer. Then when we returned to school, we discussed the books in English class and wrote papers on the books.

The summers between school years were idyllic days and I miss them.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Between School Years and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

