Caught Between a Rock and a Hard Place


Have you ever been caught between a rock and a hard place?

I have been caught between a rock and a hard place several times in my life, at about the same time it seems. My marriage to my second husband was not going well; we were barely speaking to each other but we had both been through divorces in the past and neither of us wanted to go through another divorce, so we both toughed it out for as long as we could. That was a rock and a hard place. Eventually my husband decided to file for divorce and even though it was pretty traumatic, it was for the best. We could at least move on with our lives and stop pretending that we had a marriage when we really didn’t.

At the same time, I had accumulated a lot of debt and was trying to decide whether I should liquidate my 401 (k) to pay it off or declare bankruptcy. That was another rock and a hard place. I eventually chose to go the bankruptcy route and at the same time my husband filed for divorce because of the debt. All these things happening at once was very upsetting but in the end I got through it all and came out a better person for having endured these trials, I think.

Sometimes being caught between a rock and a hard place can seem like there is no hope and no way out of a situation, but there really is if you look hard enough and you end up learning a hard life lesson by going through these hard times.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in A Rock and a Har Place and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Caught Between a Rock and a Hard Place

  1. misswhiplash says:

    Oh that is hard..but life is always a learning experience. Sometimes good and sometimes bad but it is all part of life. It does make us stronger, wiser and better people.
    I am happy that you came out ok.. I have had the divorce bit but never the debt… do hope that you manage better now

  2. Judith says:

    I am happy that you came out of that dark, hard place feeling better about yourself and the world. 🙂

Leave a Reply

