Wednesday Hodgepodge


1. What song reminds you of a specific time in your life and what is it about that song that makes you remember?

Don’t Stop Believing by Journey reminds me of when I was going to graduate school and working and taking care of my child. It was all really hard but this song reminds me that it can all be done.

2. What’s something you’ve given up on?

I’ve given up on ever having a normal relationship with my daughter. Our relation ship will always be filled with angst and drama, and I will just have to learn to live with it.

3. What’s something you’ll never give up on?

I’ll never give up on loving my granddaughters.

4. If you had to cook something from scratch in the next hour what would it be?

Apple Pie. It is the perfect fall food.

5. Have you started Christmas shopping? Decorating? Listening to Christmas music?

I wrote my Christmas cards and hung the wreath on the door. That’s about all I do for Christmas.

6. What do you know about your parent’s wedding?

I know they were married in a small ceremony in Our Lady of Fatima Church in Lynchburg, VA, with my mother’s parents and my aunt and uncle present. My mother wore a light blue suit and navy hat and my father wore a navy blue suit.

7. Insert your own random thought here.

I hope I can finally get a printer to work with my computer.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge

  1. I can relate to your answer in question # 2. Not that I have problems with my daughter, but I have a sister that absolutely drives me crazy. She has a toxic personality. I’ve learned that there is nothing I can do to change the way she is, but can only accept she’s that way and worry about my own reaction to it. Difficult as hell, but acceptance helps. And I agree…Apple Pie is the perfect Fall food. 🙂

  2. The Hook says:

    Apple pie rules! Journey ids HUGE these days, aren’t they?
    Great list, young woman!

  3. I love that song…and pie 🙂

  4. Tilly Bud says:

    Apple Pie – yummy.

  5. Judith says:

    I made a pie from your recipe. Delicious and thanks.

Leave a Reply

