Middle Name


What is your middle name? Do you like it?

My middle name is Marie. Yes, I like it. MY full name is Diane Marie Catherine Samson and I dislike my given name, Diane. The reason I dislike it is that this was never supposed to be my given name. My father wanted to name be Rosemary, but my grandmother vetoed that idea since it was the name of his little sister who had died at birth. Then He wanted Rosemarie, but she felt it was too similar to Rosemary. Then everyone had settled on Marie, when my mother decided that having two Marie Samsons was confusing (my father’s cousin Marie was not yet married). So my mother picked out my name from a movie magazine and that’s how I got Diane for a name. I have always felt that my name should have been Marie and as I got older I started using it as my name. I am more comfortable with Marie as my name. It just feels more like my name.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Middle Name and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Middle Name

  1. misswhiplash says:

    No wonder I was getting confused between Diane Marie Samsom and Mairedubhtx…Now I know .

    What an interesting post and very well written

  2. I got stuck with Gerald….my Dad’s first name…… I always use G as my middle initial when signing my name….. but never actual use the name….except when my Mom was yelling at me as a kid…

  3. My middle name is Marie, too. My paternal grandmother’s name is Marie (well she goes by Marie, which is really her middle name to). My birth father’s favorite performer was Elvis Presley. He was born the same day as Elvis. I was born in May of 1967, so I find it ironic and somewhat cool that I share the same name as Elvis’s daughter (she wasn’t born until February 1968). I’ve always liked my middle name.

Leave a Reply

