The Luckiest Thing


When I worked at the New York State Education Department in Albany, NY, it was in a building in downtown Albany. Albany has very little parking downtown and getting to and from work was always a hassle. For many years I took public transportation (the city bus); when my daughter was young I took the state-provided shuttle bus from the state owned lot which was near her day-care center, but it took me an hour to get to work. If I really needed my car I cashed in my many pennies and used public parking lots, getting up at the crack of dawn to get a spot in the few that were available. I put my name on the waiting list for the one state parking lot that was near my building and promptly forgot about it since I figured I’d be dead by the time they reached my name.

But one day, about 7 years later, I got a call at work for the parking authority and I had finally gotten a spot in the state-owned parking lot. It was the luckiest day in my life! I now had all sorts of options for parking and getting to work. If the weather was bad (read snow) I could still take public transportation, but now I could park in the stae lot and walk the five minutes from the lot to work, after the 15 minute drive to to the lot. It was one of the happiest days in my working life to get that parking lot spot. If it had been possible, I would have bequeathed it to those I loved in my will, that’s how precious it was. Seven years was a long time to wait but since I worked there 20 years, it was like nothing. It was a lucky day.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in The Luckiest Thing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Luckiest Thing

  1. misswhiplash says:

    a most treasured space I think!

  2. judithhb says:

    Isn’t it amazing how small things can make such a difference to our lives.

  3. The Hook says:

    I hope the new year brings even more luck your way!

Leave a Reply

